Royal Monstary of Santa Ana
Work on the original Cistercian construction ended around 1350. Important refurbishment work took place during the second half of the 16th century and little was left of the original monastery (basically, a few pointed windows). The monastery has a cloister with three levels, which was completed in 1596 and was the only one with that number of levels in its day. The exterior appearance is very austere and boasts a very solid steeple made of brick.
The church has one single nave covered with a three-bodied pendentive vault divided by semi-circular granite arches. The upper end is covered with a lowered hemispherical dome with twenty ribs. In the early years of the 17th century, extension work was carried out on the choir according to a design by the school of Francisco de Mora.
The altarpiece is by the artist Manuel Escobado (end of the 18th century) and is of particular interest.
Very popular with Queen Isabella of Castile, the Empress Isabella and her son Felipe II, as a young boy, spent long periods there, as did Felipe III later with his wife.
In 1978, the nuns left the convent and it was designated a National Monument in 1982. It has been acquired by the government of the autonomous community (Junta de Castilla y León) and is currently used as an office building for the administration.